Tags

, ,

Well, it’s official! After working for the past two and a half years, I’ve finally shed the shackles of student debt, and am ready to start saving from scratch. Imagine that!

For as long as I can remember, saving has been a rather elusive and fanciful term. After racking up considerable debt during my undergraduate and graduate studies (including a pricey semester abroad), I’ve been throwing money into debt with reckless abandon in hopes of one day reaching the tipping point.

Thankfully, that day has now come. The final payment has officially cleared, I’ve closed my student line of credit, and I’m now in the black, baby!

Upon hearing the news, my Dad congratulated me, laughed and said, “you’re out…until next time.” I concede his point, but before you jump on board with more of the same, just keep it to yourself. Let me enjoy this for a few more days.

